Industrial chemicals · Taylor, TX
Technical Data Sheet

Technical Data Sheet

Battery Water ACS Reagent Grade

Technical

Alliance Code
battery-water
Reviewed
2026-06-17
Revision
1.5
CAS number
7732-18-5
Structure
2D chemical structure of Battery Water ACS Reagent Grade
Structure · PubChem
Grade
Technical
Last reviewed 2026-06-17 by Andre Taki, Chief Commercial Officer.

Identity & Composition

Product Name
Battery Water ACS Reagent Grade
Alliance Code
battery-water
Grade
Technical
Concentration
—
CAS Number
7732-18-5PubChem
Formula
H2OPubChem
Molecular Weight
—PubChem
Product Type
Pure substance

Specifications

TestSpecificationTypicalMethodSource
Ammonium (NH4)max. 0.000001%0.00000025 %—Interpreted
Calcium (Ca) by ICPmax. 0.1 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0082 mg/Kg (ppm)ICPInterpreted
Conductivity at 25 °C (ASTM D1193 Type II)< 1 µS/cm0.48—Interpreted
Copper (Cu) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0038 mg/Kg (ppm)ICPInterpreted
Heavy Metals (as Pb)<= 0.01 ppm0.0034 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Iron (Fe) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0033 mg/Kg (ppm)ICPInterpreted
Nickel (Ni) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0010 mg/Kg (ppm)ICPInterpreted
Substances Reducing PermanganatePasses TestPasses testnot statedInterpreted
Phosphate (PO₄)<= 1.0 ppm0.008 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Residue on ignitionmax. 0.0002 %0.000030 %—Interpreted
Resistivity at 25 °C (ASTM D1193 Type II)> 1 MΩ-cm2.1—Interpreted
Silicate (as SiO₂)<= 0.01 ppm0.0044 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Sodium (Na) by ICPmax. 0.1 mg/Kg (ppm)0.030 mg/Kg (ppm)ICPInterpreted
Sulfate (SO₄)<= 1.0 ppm0.022 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Chloride (Cl)≤ 0.4 ppm0.060 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Nitrate (NO₃)≤ 0.4 ppm0.041 ppmnot statedInterpreted
Residue after Evaporation≤ 0.0002 %0.000030 %not statedInterpreted
Specific Conductance at 25°C≤ 2.0 µS/cm at 25 °C0.48not statedInterpreted
Potassium (K) by ICPmax. 0.1 mg/Kg (ppm)0.012 mg/Kg (ppm)ICP-OES (ASTM D1976 / EPA 200.7)Interpreted
Magnesium (Mg) by ICPmax. 0.1 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0040 mg/Kg (ppm)ICP-OES (ASTM D1976 / EPA 200.7)Interpreted
Manganese (Mn) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.00058 mg/Kg (ppm)ICP-OES (ASTM D1976 / EPA 200.7)Interpreted
Zinc (Zn) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.0016 mg/Kg (ppm)ICP-OES (ASTM D1976 / EPA 200.7)Interpreted
Lead (Pb) by ICPmax. 0.01 mg/Kg (ppm)0.00036 mg/Kg (ppm)ICP-OES (ASTM D1976 / EPA 200.7)Interpreted
Total organic carbon (TOC) (ASTM D1193 Type II)< 50 ppb19 ppbUV-persulfate oxidation / NDIR (ASTM D5173)Interpreted
Ultraviolet absorbance, 1 cm, 254 nmmax. 0.010.001UV-Vis spectrophotometry, 1 cm cell vs. air referenceInterpreted

Values are reproduced from the current product reference. Source labels do not by themselves establish a supplier guarantee or a test result for your lot. Confirm applicable acceptance limits and request lot-specific documentation.

Physical & Chemical Properties

PropertyValueSource
AppearanceClear, colorless liquidAdjudicated
FormLiquidPublished reference
OdorOdorlessPublished reference
pH5 - 8Interpreted
Specific Gravity1.000 at 4 °C (water = 1)Adjudicated
Density1Published reference
Boiling Point100 °C (212 °F) at 760 mmHgAdjudicated
Melting Point0 °C (32 °F)Adjudicated
Flash PointNot applicablePublished reference
Vapor Pressure23.8 mmHg (3.17 kPa) at 25 °CAdjudicated
Vapor Density0.62 (air = 1)Adjudicated
Solubility (water)Completely misciblePublished reference
Viscosity1.0 mPa·s at 20 °CAdjudicated

Regulatory & Transport

DOT / 49 CFR

UN Number
Not regulatedAdjudicated
Hazard Class
Not regulatedAdjudicated
Packing Group
Not regulatedAdjudicated
Proper Shipping Name
Not regulatedAdjudicated

GHS / OSHA HCS 2024

Signal Word
Not regulatedAdjudicated
H-Codes (Hazard Statements)
Not applicableAdjudicated
P-Codes (Precautionary Statements)
Not applicableAdjudicated

Occupational Exposure Limits

OSHA PEL (29 CFR 1910.1000)
—no canonical
ACGIH TLV
—no canonical
NIOSH REL
—no canonical
NIOSH IDLH
—no canonical

Transport descriptions reflect 49 CFR 172.101 lookup at time of publication. Sourced data: NIOSH Pocket Guide for REL/IDLH, OSHA Z-Tables for PEL. Always verify against the latest regulatory text before shipment-critical decisions.

Supplier Qualification Packet

One zipped download containing the TDS, SDS, latest lot COA (when available), and a fresh Letter of Continuing Guaranty for Battery Water ACS Reagent Grade. Every file included is SHA-256 hashed and listed in a manifest your QA team can audit.

Download audit packet

Applications

  • Supplied for laboratory, research or manufacturing use as an ACS reagent-grade waterdigitalassets.avantorsciences.com
  • Reagent water for use in laboratory analysis, meeting ISO 3696 type 2 specificationsitwreagents.com
  • General laboratory, industrial process, agricultural and utility useitwreagents.com
  • Solvent for a wide variety of mineral and organic substancesitwreagents.com
  • Chemical manufacturing: solution preparation, chemical dilution and apparatus cleaningpuretecwater.com
  • Laboratory reagent used in laboratory processes and solutions.itwreagents.com

Applications are drawn from published manufacturer and supplier documentation; each is sourced. Suitability for a specific use is the buyer's to confirm.

Storage & Handling

Recommended Storage
Keep in clean, closed containers to protect purity. Protect from freezing.Adjudicated
Handling Precautions
Use standard chemical PPE — splash goggles, gloves, lab coat. Refer to SDS for hazard-specific PPE requirements.Class-level guidance — not product-specific; the SDS controls.
Incompatibilities
None known. Reacts violently with alkali metals and some water-reactive chemicals (as all water does).Adjudicated
Shelf Life
60 monthsdigitalassets.avantorsciences.com

For full hazard, PPE, and emergency response guidance, refer to the Safety Data Sheet (SDS) for this product. The SDS controls in all cases where guidance differs.

Packaging & Logistics

Shipping Description (US DOT)

Not regulated for transport.

Confirm against shipping documents and carrier requirements before tender.

NMFC Class
55

Revision History

Last reviewed 2026-06-17 by Andre Taki, Chief Commercial Officer, DOT Hazmat–certified (49 CFR 172.704).

VersionDateChangeTrigger
1.52026-10-13Canonical data updated: 1 field changed via the provenance/adjudication pipeline.
  • hazardous_decomposition_products· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
canonical_change
1.42026-10-06Canonical data updated: 12 fields changed via the provenance/adjudication pipeline.
  • synonyms· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • recommended_use· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • restrictions_on_use· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • meltingPoint· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • boilingPoint· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • vaporPressure· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • specificGravity· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • vaporDensity· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • viscosity· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • conditions_to_avoid· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • incompatible_materials· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • storage_precautions· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
canonical_change
1.32026-10-02Canonical data updated: 2 fields changed via the provenance/adjudication pipeline.
  • hazard_h_codes· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • hazard_p_codes· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
canonical_change
1.22026-09-30Canonical data updated: 3 fields changed via the provenance/adjudication pipeline.
  • boilingPoint· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • meltingPoint· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
  • appearance· canonical change (coa.data_provenance / adjudication)
canonical_change
1.12026-06-17Canonical data re-verified: 3 fields updated against independent vendor SDSs, CLP Annex VI, 49 CFR, and OSHA HazCom 2024 (GHS classification, hazard/precautionary codes, signal word, physical properties as applicable).
  • countryOfOrigin· canonical adjudication / reground (coa.data_provenance)
  • dotSubsidiaryHazardClass· canonical adjudication / reground (coa.data_provenance)
  • hsCode· canonical adjudication / reground (coa.data_provenance)
canonical_change
1.02026-05-20Initial URL-first TDS published from canonical chemistry registry.initial

This Technical Data Sheet is provided for technical reference. The Safety Data Sheet (SDS) controls in all cases where guidance differs. Values reflect Alliance Chemical canonical data at time of generation; subsequent revisions are recorded in the Revision History above.

Battery Water ACS Reagent Grade — Technical Data Sheet | Alliance Chemical