Alliance Chemical / Technical Library / Version 1.0

Food & beverage processing handbook

Food grade, FCC, GRAS, HT1: a plant buys ingredients and utility chemistry on words that sound like a status. Each one points at a document, an edition, a use condition or a registration. None of them is a property of the drum.

September 14, 2026 · Source-based editorial guidance. Independent specialist review pending. No original testing or product qualification is claimed.

For food and beverage manufacturers, their preventive controls qualified individuals and purchasing teams specifying ingredients, processing aids and utility chemistry. This collection does not determine the regulatory status of any use, perform a hazard analysis, approve or verify a supplier, set a use level, dose or feed rate, write a cleaning procedure, or establish that any material is fit for use in food or on food-contact equipment.

Use your browser’s PDF destination to save this edition.

Chapter 1 / Purchasing guide

What “food grade” points to, and what it leaves undefined

Federal rules use the phrase without defining it. What a buyer can specify instead is the listing, its conditions of use, and a named edition of a named specification.

The rule uses the words and never defines them

21 CFR 182.1 is the general provision for the substances listed in part 182, and paragraph (b) writes the phrase into the meaning of good manufacturing practice: the substance “is of appropriate food grade and is prepared and handled as a food ingredient.” Section 184.1(b) repeats it for affirmed ingredients, requiring that a direct human food ingredient “be of appropriate food grade.” Neither section says what the phrase means, and the definitions in 21 CFR 170.3, which apply across the food subchapter, carry no entry for it.

The same paragraph of § 182.1 shows where the content actually comes from. On request, it says, the Commissioner will offer an opinion “based on specifications and intended use, as to whether or not a particular grade or lot of the substance is of suitable purity for use in food.” Two inputs, a specification and an intended use, and neither of them is a word on a label. That is the practical reading for a purchase: “food grade” on a quote or a drum is a claim that some specification was met with some use in mind. It becomes something a buyer can check only when both are written down.

Where the phrase gets content, it gets an edition

21 CFR 170.30(h)(1) is the provision that attaches a document. A listed or affirmed ingredient is regarded as GRAS only if, among other requirements, “it complies with any applicable food grade specifications of the Food Chemicals Codex, 2d Ed. (1972), or, if specifically indicated in the GRAS affirmation regulation, the Food Chemicals Codex, 3d Ed. (1981).” Several ingredient entries do so indicate, and cite a page: acetic acid at § 184.1005 (page 8), magnesium chloride at § 184.1426 (page 177), potassium bicarbonate at § 184.1613 (page 239) and propylene glycol at § 184.1666 (page 255) each “meets the specifications of the Food Chemicals Codex, 3d Ed. (1981).” The part 182 entries for phosphoric acid (§ 182.1073) and glycerin (§ 182.1320) name the product and good manufacturing practice, and no specification at all. The sodium hydroxide entry and its 1981 edition are discussed in this library’s paper and pulp collection, in the guide on what “membrane grade” states, and are not repeated here.

The federal text read for this guide therefore cites the Codex at three editions: 1972 and 1981 in parts 170 and 184, and a 7th edition of 2010 for one test method and one set of specifications in the boiler water section, § 173.310, which names the United States Pharmacopeial Convention as the place to obtain it. The Codex is a purchased standard. Its publisher’s page returned 403 to an unauthenticated request on September 14, 2026; no edition was read for this guide and no limit from any edition is reproduced here. A specification that says “FCC” without an edition has not chosen between those documents, and a certificate that reports conformance to “FCC” has not said which one it was tested against.

A listing describes a substance, route and all

§ 184.1(a) states what an affirmation’s text is for: the regulations “shall sufficiently describe each ingredient to identify the characteristics of the ingredient that has been affirmed as GRAS and to differentiate it from other possible versions of the ingredient that have not been affirmed as GRAS.” The entries do that with identity and with route. § 184.1426 describes magnesium chloride as the hexahydrate, occurring naturally as the mineral bischofite and prepared by dissolving magnesium oxide, hydroxide or carbonate in aqueous hydrochloric acid and crystallising the hexahydrate out. § 184.1666 records two routes for propylene glycol, one through the chlorohydrin formed from propylene and one by heating glycerol with sodium hydroxide. § 184.1005 records that acetic acid is produced by fermentation of carbohydrates or by organic synthesis, and names three synthetic routes.

Where an entry records a route, the route is part of the description the affirmation rests on, and whether a given supply sits inside that description is a question to put to the producer in writing rather than to infer from a label. Note also that part 182 and part 184 can describe neighbouring things differently. § 182.1(a) names vinegar, by way of illustration, among common food ingredients, while § 184.1005 affirms acetic acid, CAS 64-19-7, against a Codex specification. A dilute acetic acid solution and a vinegar are therefore not interchangeable descriptions on a purchase document, and the concentration of either is a number with a basis—a problem worked through in this library’s oil and gas collection under “Twenty degrees Baumé is a hydrometer reading.”

One federal sentence, two registry records

The magnesium chloride entry shows why identifiers have to be checked against each other and not merely copied. § 184.1426(a) gives the formula of the hexahydrate and, in the same sentence, the registry number CAS Reg. No. 7786-30-3. PubChem assigns 7786-30-3 to anhydrous magnesium chloride, CID 5360315, and records the hexahydrate, CID 24644, under its own number, 7791-18-6.

So the formula and the registry number in one federal sentence resolve to two different substance records. A specification that copies the CAS number from the rule and a certificate that quotes the hexahydrate’s number will not match, and the mismatch will not be either party’s typing error. Write the name, the hydrate, the formula and the CAS number together on the purchase document, and check that all four describe the same substance before anyone compares a result against them.

Limonene: one line of the list, three substances

§ 182.60 lists synthetic flavoring substances and adjuvants, and one of its entries reads “Limonene (d-, l-, and dl-).” One line covers two enantiomers and their racemic mixture, and they do not share a registry number. The PubChem record for (+)-limonene, which is d-limonene, carries CAS 5989-27-5; the occupational-health summary aggregated on that record notes that the racemic mixture of d- and l-limonene “is called limonene or dipentene (138-86-3).” The general limonene record, which does not specify stereochemistry, lists both 138-86-3 and 5989-27-5 among its numbers. A name that sounds specific can resolve to a record that is not.

What separates the forms is measurable, so it can be specified. The Hazardous Substances Data Bank entry on the (+)-limonene record gives a specific optical rotation of +123.8° at 19.5 °C, measured with the sodium D line; a racemic mixture has no net rotation. The same source states that “the purity of commercial d-limonene is about 90-98%,” with no basis or method given, which is a band wide enough that the specification needs an assay with its method rather than a name. The record also notes that the substance “readily oxidizes when in contact with air,” which puts the container, the headspace and the fill date on the receiving record. This section describes identity and specification attributes only. The § 182.60 entry is a condition on a flavoring use by a food manufacturer; it is not a statement about any drum.

Conditions of use belong to the food manufacturer

§ 170.30(i) and § 184.1(b)(1) say the same thing from two directions. An ingredient affirmed with no limitation other than good manufacturing practice is GRAS where its conditions of use are not significantly different from those the affirmation was based on. Where they are significantly different, “such use of the substance may not be GRAS,” and a manufacturer “may not rely on the regulation as authorizing the use.” Where an affirmation carries specific limitations—category of food, functional use, level of use—§ 170.30(j) allows use only within them, and several of the entries above express those limits as maximum levels as served, food category by food category. Every one of those conditions is written for the person putting the ingredient into a food.

Two further provisions cut the link between a listing and a drum. § 184.1(a) states that “the purity specifications in this part do not apply when the ingredient is used in indirect applications,” where the ingredient must instead be of a purity suitable for its intended use under § 170.30(h)(1). And § 170.30(l) records that “New information may at any time require reconsideration of the GRAS status of a food ingredient.” A listing is a regulatory position about a use, at a date. A buyer can record which section a use relies on and who decided that the use falls inside it; no supplier can deliver that decision with the material.

Say the grade you have, and ask for the document

Alliance publishes the grade a product carries in its structured product data, and that record—not the marketing copy, and not the handle—is what a purchase document should quote. Where a grade is not stated for a product, the correct action is to ask rather than to infer one. What designations such as USP, NF and ACS do and do not certify is treated in this library’s laboratory and pharmaceutical research collection under “What a grade designation certifies, and what it does not,” and this guide does not repeat it. A nominal grade or concentration does not establish interchangeability between products or between suppliers, and being merchandised under a food and beverage collection is merchandising: an industry listing is not an application approval.

Alliance sends a Certificate of Analysis when a customer asks, at no charge. Name in the purchase order which document is meant and what it must report—analytes, methods, units and reporting limits—because a sample certificate describes what a product has generally looked like while a lot certificate reports results for the material being shipped. A sample COA is not a lot certificate. Nothing here states that a particular Alliance product is suitable, approved or recommended for use in food or for any other application, or that any use of it falls within a listing. This is source-based editorial guidance, no original testing was performed for it, and independent specialist review is pending.

  • Which section of 21 CFR does the intended use rely on, and who determined that the use falls within its conditions?
  • Which specification and which edition does the purchase invoke, and is it the edition the listing incorporates?
  • Do the name, hydrate or enantiomer, formula and CAS number on the specification all describe the same substance?
  • Is each quoted value typical, a guaranteed specification limit, or a measured result for the lot?

Requirement → evidence → decision boundary

An editorial checklist for your review—not a table of product specifications.

Evidence to request for what “food grade” points to, and what it leaves undefined
RequirementEvidence to requestWhat it does not establish
Listing and conditions of useThe 21 CFR section the use relies on, its stated conditions and limitations, and who determined that the use falls within themA GRAS listing is a condition on a use by a food manufacturer, not a property of delivered material.
Specification editionThe specification and edition invoked, and whether it is the edition the cited regulation incorporatesThe federal text read here cites the Food Chemicals Codex at its 1972, 1981 and 2010 editions; “FCC” alone names none of them.
Substance identityName, formula, CAS number, hydrate or enantiomer, form, and the manufacturing route where the listing describes oneOne listing line can cover several forms with different CAS numbers, and one listing sentence can pair a formula with another form’s number.

Chapter 2 / Purchasing guide

A certificate is one input to a supply-chain program

Under 21 CFR part 117 subpart G the receiving facility approves, verifies and documents. A supplier’s test results for a particular lot can feed that work; they cannot do it.

The program starts in the hazard analysis

21 CFR 117.405(a)(1) requires a receiving facility to “establish and implement a risk-based supply-chain program for those raw materials and other ingredients for which the receiving facility has identified a hazard requiring a supply-chain-applied control.” Section 117.3 defines a supply-chain-applied control as a preventive control for a hazard in a raw material or other ingredient “when the hazard in the raw material or other ingredient is controlled before its receipt,” and § 117.405(b) requires the program to be written.

The trigger is therefore an outcome of the facility’s own hazard analysis: a hazard, identified by the facility, that someone upstream controls. Whether an ingredient needs a supply-chain program at all is not something a supplier can state, a certificate can settle or a product page can decide. The facility records it, with its reasoning. What follows in this guide applies where that determination has been made; where it has not, the determination comes before any request to a supplier.

Who counts as the “supplier”

§ 117.3 defines the supplier as “the establishment that manufactures/processes the food, raises the animal, or grows the food that is provided to a receiving facility without further manufacturing/processing by another establishment, except for further manufacturing/processing that consists solely of the addition of labeling or similar activity of a de minimis nature.” The same section’s examples of manufacturing/processing include both packaging and labeling. FDA’s draft supply-chain chapter states the consequence for intermediaries: under subpart G, “entities such as brokers, produce aggregators, food distributors, and cold storage facilities are neither receiving facilities that are required to establish a supply-chain program nor suppliers, because such entities are not manufacturers/processors.”

The same chapter recommends that a facility buying through a broker or distributor “ask the broker or distributor to provide you with information that allows you to approve the establishment that manufactures/processes the food.” Where material is repackaged or relabelled between the producer and the plant, which establishment is the supplier in the rule’s sense is a real question, answered from the definition and the facts rather than from the name on the invoice, and it belongs in writing between the facility’s preventive controls qualified individual and the counterparty. This guide makes that determination for no one, Alliance included. The chapter is a 2018 draft marked on every page as nonbinding and not for implementation; it describes the regulation and adds no requirement to it.

What stays with the receiving facility

§ 117.415(a) is direct about ownership: “The receiving facility must approve suppliers,” and, subject to two exceptions, must “determine and conduct appropriate supplier verification activities, and satisfy all documentation requirements of this subpart.” § 117.410(b) lists the activities that count: onsite audits; sampling and testing of the raw material or other ingredient; review of the supplier’s relevant food safety records; and other activities based on supplier performance and risk. § 117.420 requires approval to be documented before the material is received, and written receiving procedures to be established, followed and documented. Where the supplier controls a hazard for which there is “a reasonable probability that exposure to the hazard will result in serious adverse health consequences or death to humans,” § 117.430(b) makes the verification activity an onsite audit before first use and at least annually thereafter, unless a written determination supports other activities or less frequent auditing.

§ 117.415(b) then closes the obvious shortcut. A receiving facility may not accept, as a supplier verification activity, the supplier’s own determination of the verification it needs, an audit conducted by the supplier, the supplier’s review of its own food safety records, or other verification the supplier conducts for itself. A supplier’s procedures and practices are among the performance factors § 117.410(d) requires a facility to consider when it approves a supplier, so what a supplier says about itself can inform the approval. Under paragraph (b) it cannot be the verification.

Where a certificate fits, and what it has to carry

The one place subpart G lets a supplier’s own work count toward verification is testing. § 117.415(a)(4): “The supplier may conduct and document sampling and testing of raw materials and other ingredients, for the hazard controlled by the supplier, as a supplier verification activity for a particular lot of product and provide such documentation to the receiving facility, provided that the receiving facility reviews and assesses that documentation, and documents that review and assessment.” Three conditions sit in that sentence: the testing addresses the hazard the supplier controls, it is for a particular lot, and the facility’s review and assessment is itself a record.

§ 117.475(c)(8) lists what documentation of sampling and testing must include: identification of the material tested, “including lot number, as appropriate,” and the number of samples tested; the tests conducted, including the analytical methods used; the dates of testing and the date of the report; the results; corrective actions taken in response to detection of hazards; and information identifying the laboratory. Read a certificate against that list. A typical or sample certificate describes what a product has generally looked like and reports no particular lot, so it cannot be documentation of testing for a particular lot: a sample COA is not a lot certificate. FDA’s draft chapter gives a COA as an example of such documentation, “whether of periodic testing or lot-by-lot testing,” and recommends that it document that major analytical parameters for the lots in a specific shipment have been met. How to read the results on a lot certificate—actual values against conformance statements, reporting limits against zeros—is set out in this library’s laboratory and pharmaceutical research collection under “Reading a lot certificate for a monograph product,” and is not repeated here.

What to ask for, and what nobody can send

Alliance sends a Certificate of Analysis when a customer asks, at no charge. For a facility that will review it under subpart G, the request should name the lot, the analytes and methods, the units and reporting limits, and ask for actual results rather than a statement of conformance. Ask separately for what the facility needs to identify the establishment that manufactured or processed the material, and whether it was repackaged or relabelled before delivery. What can be provided depends on the particular product, and the answer belongs in the approval file either way.

What no supplier can send is the facility’s part of the program: its hazard analysis, its approval of the supplier, its choice and frequency of verification activity, and its documented review and assessment of whatever it receives. Nothing here states that any Alliance product, facility or document satisfies a requirement of part 117, that Alliance is or is not a supplier within § 117.3 for any transaction, or that any Alliance product is suitable, approved or recommended for use in food. This is source-based editorial guidance, no original testing was performed for it, and independent specialist review is pending.

  • Has the hazard analysis identified a hazard in this material that is controlled before receipt, and who recorded that determination?
  • Which establishment manufactured or processed the material, and was it repackaged or relabelled on the way?
  • Which verification activity was chosen for this supplier, at what frequency, and who approved the supplier?
  • Does the lot document carry the lot number, sample count, methods, dates, results and laboratory, and who reviews and assesses it?

Requirement → evidence → decision boundary

An editorial checklist for your review—not a table of product specifications.

Evidence to request for a certificate is one input to a supply-chain program
RequirementEvidence to requestWhat it does not establish
Program triggerThe hazard analysis outcome for this material: whether a hazard controlled before receipt was identified, and by whomA supplier statement cannot establish whether a supply-chain program applies to a material.
Supplier identityThe establishment that manufactured or processed the material, and any repackaging or relabelling between it and the plantFDA’s draft guidance describes a broker or distributor as neither a supplier nor a receiving facility under subpart G.
Lot test documentationLot number, number of samples, tests and methods, test and report dates, results and laboratory identityA sample COA is not a lot certificate, and no supplier document replaces the facility’s own review and assessment.

Chapter 3 / Research brief

Residues, steam and “incidental contact”: whose condition is it?

A solvent residue limit binds a food, a boiler water listing binds the steam, and an incidental-contact category names a formulation somebody registered. None of them describes what is in a drum.

A processing aid is a technical effect with a definition

21 CFR 170.3(o) lists the physical or technical functional effects for which direct human food ingredients may be added to foods, adopted from a September 1972 National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council survey. Paragraph (o)(24) defines processing aids as “substances used as manufacturing aids to enhance the appeal or utility of a food or food component, including clarifying agents, clouding agents, catalysts, flocculents, filter aids, and crystallization inhibitors, etc.” Paragraph (o)(27) defines solvents and vehicles as “substances used to extract or dissolve another substance.” The affirmation entries use these terms as conditions of use: § 184.1613 names potassium bicarbonate as a formulation aid, nutrient supplement, pH control agent and processing aid, and § 184.1666 names propylene glycol as, among twelve effects, a processing aid and a solvent and vehicle.

An effect describes what a use does in a particular food. It is not an attribute of a material, a supplier cannot confer it by shipping one, and the same substance can sit inside one effect and outside another. The question for a purchasing record is which effect the facility relies on, under which section, and who made that call. The first guide in this collection deals with the listing and its specification; this brief looks at three places where federal text sets conditions on a processing or utility use rather than on an ingredient.

Hexane: the limit is written on the food

21 CFR 173.270 opens: “Hexane may be present in the following foods under the conditions specified.” Paragraph (a) allows it in spice oleoresins “as a residue from the extraction of spice, at a level not to exceed 25 parts per million.” Paragraph (b) allows it in hops extract “as a residue from the extraction of hops, at a level not to exceed 2.2 percent by weight,” provided that the hops extract is added to the wort before or during cooking in the manufacture of beer, and that its label specifies the presence of the hexane and provides for use of the extract only in that way.

Read what the section limits and what it does not. Both numbers are residues in a named food—one in parts per million, one in percent by weight—and both attach to the extract, not to the solvent that made it. The section names two foods and no others, states no assay, grade, composition or impurity limit for the hexane, and says nothing about any other use of it. A buyer of the solvent learns from it which residue a finished extract is measured against. The residue measurement, its method and the owner of the result all sit with the extractor.

“Hexane” is not one composition

The aggregated public record for hexane shows why the solvent side needs an identity of its own. A Hazardous Substances Data Bank entry describes the technical grade as “a mixture of approx 50% n-hexane and 50% isohexane and cyclohexane,” with no basis stated for either figure. The record’s registry numbers include 110-54-3 and 92112-69-1, and its depositor-supplied synonyms run from “n-Hexane” to “Hexanes.” Several materials share one word.

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives made the point directly at its sixty-fifth meeting in 2005: “As used in the food industry, ‘hexane’ is a mixture of hydrocarbons,” whose composition “will depend on the region of production, the source of the raw material and the site of production,” so that the committee concluded “the present articles of commerce differ from those previously evaluated by JECFA,” and it recommended a re-evaluation. That statement is two decades old and is quoted as dated evidence, not as a current position. The stable part is the purchasing consequence: a solvent specification has to say which material is meant—normal hexane or a hexanes mixture, with an assay, its basis and a method—and a grade designation alone does not answer that. What a designation such as ACS certifies is covered in the laboratory and pharmaceutical research collection. Nothing here states that any Alliance solvent is suitable for, or permitted in, any extraction.

Boiler water: the condition is on the steam

21 CFR 173.310 sets the conditions under which boiler water additives may be used in preparing steam that will contact food. Paragraph (a) is a quantity condition on two things at once: “The amount of additive is not in excess of that required for its functional purpose, and the amount of steam in contact with food does not exceed that required to produce the intended effect in or on the food.” Paragraph (b) requires the compounds to be prepared from the substances listed in paragraphs (c) and (d), subject to any limitations stated there. Sodium hydroxide appears in the paragraph (c) list with no limitation beside it; other entries carry limits in parts per million in boiler feedwater or in steam, and several paragraph (d) entries exclude steam that contacts milk and milk products. The acetic acid affirmation at § 184.1005 cross-refers here, naming use “as a boiler water additive complying with § 173.310.”

Paragraph (e) is the part a purchasing team tends to skip. The label or labeling of the additive must bear “the common or chemical name or names of the additive or additives” and “adequate directions for use to assure compliance with all the provisions of this section.” The section regulates an additive as used—labelled, with directions—in a boiler producing steam for a stated contact. A listed substance delivered as a commodity chemical is not by that fact a labelled boiler water additive, and the treatment programme, its feedwater and steam limits, and the contact the steam has with food are for the facility and its water-treatment provider to own. This brief sets no dose, feed rate or treatment programme.

“Incidental food contact” as federal text uses it

The phrase has a home in 21 CFR 178.3570, and the home is lubricants. The section provides for lubricants with incidental food contact on machinery used for producing, manufacturing, packing, processing, preparing, treating, packaging, transporting or holding food, prepared from GRAS substances, from substances used under a prior sanction or approval, or from the substances in its own table with their limitations. Paragraph (b) names the uses: “as a protective antirust film, as a release agent on gaskets or seals of tank closures, and as a lubricant for machine parts and equipment in locations in which there is exposure of the lubricated part to food.” The amount used is the minimum required for the technical effect on the equipment, and the addition to food of any constituent identified in the section must not exceed its limitation—for several table entries, “Addition to food not to exceed 10 parts per million.”

Two things follow. The federal condition is a composition, a use and a limit on what reaches the food, written for a lubricant in a named set of uses; paragraph (b) does not name heat transfer among them, and none of the federal text read for this brief sets an equivalent condition for a heat-transfer fluid. And the condition attaches to a finished lubricant used in a particular way, not to a material that might be one of its components.

HT1 is a registration of a named formulation

The incidental-contact category most buyers of heat-transfer fluid meet is a private one. NSF’s quick reference guide to its nonfood compound categories lists HT1 as “Heat transfer fluids - Incidental contact” and HT2 as “Heat transfer fluids - no food contact,” alongside H1, “General – incidental contact,” for lubricants. It lists HTX1, “Ingredients for use in HT1 heat transfer fluids,” as a separate category, with HTX2 for HT2 fluids. Because the guide lists a component category and a finished-fluid category separately, the registration of a component and the registration of a finished fluid have to be checked separately.

NSF’s White Book listing directory shows what a registration attaches to: a company, a product name, a registration number and one or more category codes, with the product name linked to a registration letter. On September 14, 2026 the directory stated it was current as of that morning and asked readers to confirm any listing with NSF. Registration status is therefore a lookup the buyer performs—by exact product name and registration number, at the date of purchase, keeping the letter—and it covers the named product only. A fluid with the same glycol percentage, or the same base glycol with a different inhibitor package, is not covered by another product’s registration. Why an inhibited glycol is a formulation rather than a chemical, and what an inhibitor claim does and does not establish, are covered in this library’s HVAC and geothermal collection under “Inhibited and uninhibited glycol are different purchases” and “A corrosion-inhibitor claim is a claim about evidence.” Nothing in this library states or implies that any Alliance product holds an NSF registration or any incidental-contact status, and none should be inferred from a product name, a collection or a percentage.

What this brief did not read, and what can change

The Food Chemicals Codex in any edition and NSF’s registration guidelines were not read: the Codex publisher’s page and NSF’s nonfood compounds pages on nsf.org both returned 403 to an unauthenticated request on September 14, 2026, and only the category guide and listing directory on info.nsf.org were readable. Neither document is paraphrased here and no limit is reproduced from either. Where a specification invokes one, obtain the edition it invokes and cite the clauses by number.

The regulatory position also moves. FDA’s GRAS overview page records that on August 10, 2026 the agency proposed a rule to enhance oversight of uses of substances added to human and animal food that are claimed to be GRAS, under docket FDA-2025-N-3262. The proposal was not read for this brief and is not final; it is noted so that anyone relying on a GRAS position checks its status at the date of use. This brief performed no original testing, conducts no hazard analysis, determines the regulatory status of no use, and sets no use level, dose, feed rate or cleaning procedure. Nothing in it states that any Alliance product is suitable, approved or recommended for use in food, on food-contact equipment or in any other application. Independent specialist review of this collection is pending.

  • Which technical effect and which section of 21 CFR does this processing use rely on, and who determined that?
  • Where a residue limit applies, which analyte does the method measure, and who owns the result?
  • For steam that contacts food, which labelled additive is used, and who owns the boiler water programme?
  • For an incidental-contact claim, which exact product name, registration number and category code were looked up, on what date, and where is the letter kept?

Requirement → evidence → decision boundary

An editorial checklist for your review—not a table of product specifications.

Evidence to request for residues, steam and “incidental contact”: whose condition is it?
RequirementEvidence to requestWhat it does not establish
Residue conditionThe residue limit that applies to the food, the analyte as the method defines it, and who measures and owns the resultA residue limit in 21 CFR 173.270 binds the food; it is not a specification for the solvent.
Steam and boiler water useThe labelled additive’s identity and directions under § 173.310(e), and the owner of the treatment programmeA substance named in the § 173.310 lists is not by that fact a labelled boiler water additive.
Incidental-contact statusExact registered product name, registration number, category code and registration letter, looked up at the date of purchaseA registration covers the named product; it does not transfer to another fluid at the same glycol percentage.

Keep the next decision documented

Use the online worksheet to record your requirements and unresolved questions. Revisit the online edition before relying on a saved copy; source documents and governing requirements may change.

Open the requirements worksheet →

Suggest a correction