Values are reproduced from the current product reference. Source labels do not by themselves establish a supplier guarantee or a test result for your lot. Confirm applicable acceptance limits and request lot-specific documentation.
Available GradesSame CAS, alternate grades and concentrations
Typical assay shown is the rolling-window mean from the sibling product's most recent lots. Grade selection drives downstream end-use — verify the sibling grade matches your specification before substitution.
Physical & Chemical Properties
Property
Value
Source
Appearance
Clear to pale yellow liquid
Adjudicated
Form
Liquid
Published reference
Odor
Pungent, sulfur dioxide odor
Adjudicated
pH
3.5–5.0
Adjudicated
Specific Gravity
1.32–1.35 at 20 °C (water = 1)
Adjudicated
Density
1.32-1.35 g/cm³ (20°C)
Published reference
Boiling Point
About 100–104 °C (212–219 °F), with release of sulfur dioxide
Adjudicated
Melting Point
About 5 °C (41 °F), crystallization point; keep from freezing
Adjudicated
Flash Point
Not applicable
Adjudicated
Vapor Pressure
About 18–32 mmHg at 20 °C (water and sulfur dioxide)
Adjudicated
Solubility (water)
Completely miscible with water
Adjudicated
Viscosity
3.6 mPa·s at 20 °C
Adjudicated
Materials of Construction
Material
Rating
Conditions
Source
stainless steel (alloy grade not specified)
Compatible
Sodium bisulfite solution 38.0–42.0 wt. %, as shipped in tank truck or railcar; no temperature stated
ineos.com
plastic (polymer not specified in source)
Compatible
Sodium bisulfite solution 38.0–42.0 wt. %, as shipped in 55 gallon plastic drums; no temperature stated
ineos.com
Compatibility is drawn from published manufacturer and supplier documentation for this product; each rating is sourced. Confirm against your specific duty cycle before equipment selection.
Transport descriptions reflect 49 CFR 172.101 lookup at time of publication. Sourced data: NIOSH Pocket Guide for REL/IDLH, OSHA Z-Tables for PEL. Always verify against the latest regulatory text before shipment-critical decisions.
Acute toxicology values from SDS Section 11 or NIOSH RTECS.
Supplier Qualification Packet
One zipped download containing the TDS, SDS, latest lot COA (when available), and a fresh Letter of Continuing Guaranty for Sodium Bisulfite 40% ACS Grade. Every file included is SHA-256 hashed and listed in a manifest your QA team can audit.
Dechlorination in municipal wastewater, pulp & paper, power, and textile water treatment plantsineos.com
Oxygen scavenger and boiler water treatmentineos.com
Preservative in the photo developer processineos.com
Flue gas desulfurizationineos.com
Food additive (source is a sodium bisulfite solution stated to meet FCC, ACS and/or USP specifications; grade-scoped to ACS handles)ineos.com
Laboratory, research, or manufacturing use (ACS reagent grade material)digitalassets.avantorsciences.com
Applications are drawn from published manufacturer and supplier documentation; each is sourced. Suitability for a specific use is the buyer's to confirm.
Storage & Handling
Recommended Storage
Keep tightly closed in a cool, ventilated area in polyethylene, fiberglass or stainless-steel containers, away from acids and oxidizers. Protect from freezing (crystallizes near 5 °C).Adjudicated
Handling Precautions
Use standard chemical PPE — splash goggles, gloves, lab coat. Refer to SDS for hazard-specific PPE requirements.Class-level guidance — not product-specific; the SDS controls.
Consult Technical Services for product-specific shelf life
For full hazard, PPE, and emergency response guidance, refer to the Safety Data Sheet (SDS) for this product. The SDS controls in all cases where guidance differs.
Packaging & Logistics
Shipping Description (US DOT)
UN2693, Bisulfites, aqueous solutions, n.o.s. (Sodium bisulfite), 8, PG III
Sourced from 49 CFR 172.101. Confirm against shipping documents and carrier requirements before tender.
NMFC Class
65
Placard
Corrosive
Packing Group
PG III
Revision History
Last reviewed 2026-07-17 by Andre Taki, Chief Commercial Officer, DOT Hazmat–certified (49 CFR 172.704).
Version
Date
Change
Trigger
1.7
2026-10-08
Canonical data updated: 22 fields changed via the provenance/adjudication pipeline.
Canonical data re-verified: 6 fields updated against independent vendor SDSs, CLP Annex VI, 49 CFR, and OSHA HazCom 2024 (GHS classification, hazard/precautionary codes, signal word, physical properties as applicable).
Initial URL-first TDS published from canonical chemistry registry.
initial
This Technical Data Sheet is provided for technical reference. The Safety Data Sheet (SDS) controls in all cases where guidance differs. Values reflect Alliance Chemical canonical data at time of generation; subsequent revisions are recorded in the Revision History above.